Friday, February 1, 2013

Award Winning Children's Literature 2012

Have you ever noticed the Caldecott and Newbery shelves in Youth Services?  Each year, the  American Library Association announces these award winners (among many others) and here they are for 2012...
The the John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Newbery Honor Books
Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Bomb: The Race to Build-and Steal-the World's Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:
This is not my Hat illustrated and written by Jon Klassen

Caldecott Honor Books
Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds
Extra Yarn illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett
Green illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
One Cool Friend illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo
Sleep like a Tiger illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue

View other award winners at ALA Youth Media Awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know what you think!