Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Andrew Carnegie Medal Winners

Established in 2012 by the American Library Association, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction “recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year.” This year's winners are The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt and The Bully Pulpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin.
An ALA press release provides the following summaries:

"Tartt’s The Goldfinch, published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette BookGroup, Inc., tells the tale of 13-year-old Manhattanite Theo. In the wake of his father’s abandonment, Theo grows extremely close to his vivacious mother—until an act of terrorism catapults him into a dizzying world bereft of gravity, certainty or love. Tartt writes from Theo’s point of view with fierce exactitude and magnetic emotion.

Goodwin’s The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism, published by Simon & Schuster, examines the complex relationship between two presidents, Roosevelt and Taft, who played major roles in the Progressive movement of the early twentieth century. Acclaimed historian Goodwin offers a superb re-creation of a period when many politicians, journalists and citizens of differing political affiliations viewed government as a force for public good."

Winners were selected from a shortlist of three fiction and three nonfiction finalists and a longlist of 50 titles.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know what you think!