Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Finalists for the 2013 Andrew Carnegie Medals

Established in 2012 by the American Library Association, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction “recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year.”  This past May, three fiction and three nonfiction finalists were selected from a longlist of 50 titles.  Fiction finalists are Canada by Richard Ford, This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Díaz, and The Round House by Louise Erdrich.  Nonfiction finalists are Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis by Timothy Egan, The Mansion of Happiness: A History of Life and Death by Jill Lepore, and Spillover: Animal Infections and the Next Human Pandemic by David Quammen.  Winners will be announced on June 30 at the ALA's annual conference in Chicago.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know what you think!